RCW 35A.12.040 Elections—Terms of elective officers—Numbering of council positions. Officers shall be elected at biennial municipal elections to be conducted as provided in chapter 35A.29 RCW. The mayor and the councilmembers shall be elected for four-year terms of office and until their successors are elected and qualified and assume office in accordance with RCW 29A.60.280. At any first election upon reorganization, councilmembers shall be elected as provided in RCW 35A.02.050. Thereafter the requisite number of councilmembers shall be elected biennially as the terms of their predecessors expire and shall serve for terms of four years. The positions to be filled on the city council shall be designated by consecutive numbers and shall be dealt with as separate offices for all election purposes. Election to positions on the council shall be by majority vote from the city at large, unless provision is made by charter or ordinance for election by wards. The mayor and councilmembers shall qualify by taking an oath or affirmation of office and as may be provided by law, charter, or ordinance. [2015 c 53 § 52; 1994 c 223 § 31; 1979 ex.s. c 18 § 21; 1970 ex.s. c 52 § 3; 1967 ex.s. c 119 § 35A.12.040.]

Severability—1979 ex.s. c 18: See note following RCW 35A.01.070.