RCW 52.14.140 Governance authority of fire protection district. (1) The members of the legislative authority of a city or town shall serve ex officio, by virtue of their office, as the fire commissioners of a fire protection district created under RCW 52.02.160.

(2) The legislative authority of a city or town may, within the initial resolution establishing the district's formation, relinquish governance authority of a fire protection district created under chapter 328, Laws of 2017 to an independently elected board of commissioners to be elected in accordance with RCW 52.14.060.

(3) (a) The legislative authority of a city or town may, by a majority vote of its members in an open public meeting, relinquish governance authority of a fire protection district created under chapter 328, Laws of 2017 to an appointed board of three fire commissioners at any time after formation. Each appointed commissioner serves until successors are elected at the next qualified election.

At the next qualified election, the person who receives the greatest number of votes for each commissioner position is elected to that position. The terms of office for the initial elected fire commissioners are staggered as follows:

(i) The person who is elected receiving the greatest number of votes is elected to a six-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a five-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year;

(ii) The person who is elected receiving the next greatest number of votes is elected to a four-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a three-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; and

(iii) The other person who is elected is elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year. The term of office for each subsequent commissioner is six years.

(b) If the legislative authority of a city or town relinquishes governance authority of a fire protection district after formation under this section, and that fire protection district maintains a fire department consisting wholly of personnel employed on a full-time, fully paid basis, that district shall have five fire commissioners. The terms of office for the initial elected fire commissioners are staggered as follows:

(i) The two people elected receiving the two greatest number of votes are elected to six-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or five-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year;

(ii) The two people who are elected receiving the next two greatest number of votes are elected to four-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or three-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; and

(iii) The other person who is elected is elected to a two-year term of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or a one-year term of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year. The term of office for each subsequent commissioner is six years.

(c) If the legislative authority of a city or town relinquishes governance authority of a fire protection district after formation under this section, and that fire protection district has an annual budget of ten million dollars or more, that district must have seven fire commissioners. The terms of office for the initial elected fire commissioners are staggered as follows:

(i) The three people who are elected receiving the three greatest number of votes are elected to six-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or five-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year;

(ii) The two people who are elected receiving the next two greatest number of votes are elected to four-year terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or three-year terms of office if the election is held in an even-numbered year; and

(iii) The other two people who are elected are elected to twoyear terms of office if the election is held in an odd-numbered year, or one-year terms of office if the election is held in an evennumbered year. The term of office for each subsequent commissioner is six years. [2017 c $328 \$ 6.]