- RCW 43.101.030 Membership. The commission shall consist of 21 members as follows:
 - (1) The governor shall appoint:
- (a) One incumbent sheriff and one incumbent chief of police. The governor shall additionally appoint an alternate incumbent chief of police who may perform commission duties in place of the appointed incumbent chief if that person is unavailable;
- (b) Two officers at or below the level of first line supervisor who:
- (i) Have at least ten years' experience as law enforcement officers;
- (ii) Are from two different law enforcement agencies that each have at least 15 officers and are different than the agencies with which the members in (a) of this subsection are affiliated; and
 - (iii) Are affiliated with different labor organizations;
- (c) One tribal police officer at or below the level of first line supervisor who has at least 10 years' experience as a law enforcement officer;
 - (d) One person employed in a state or county corrections agency;
- (e) One incumbent county prosecuting attorney or municipal attorney and one public defender;
- (f) One licensed attorney with background in investigating, advocating, teaching, training, or presiding over matters related to enhancing law enforcement practices and accountability, who has not been employed in law enforcement;
- (g) One elected official of a local government who is not a sheriff or police chief and has not been employed in the last 10 years as a peace officer or prosecutor in any jurisdiction;
- (h) One person with civilian oversight or auditing experience over law enforcement agencies;
- (i) Seven community members who are not employed in law enforcement, including at least two who reside east of the crest of the Cascade mountains and at least three who are from a historically underrepresented community or communities; and
- (j) One tribal chair, board member, councilmember, or enrolled member from a federally recognized tribe with an active certification agreement under RCW 43.101.157 who is not a sheriff and has not been employed in the last 10 years as a peace officer or prosecutor in any jurisdiction;
 - (2) The attorney general or the attorney general's designee;
- (3) The chief of the state patrol or the chief's designee. [2021 c 323 s 3; 2020 c 44 s 1; 1999 c 97 s 1; 1981 c 132 s 3; 1979 ex.s. c 55 s 1; 1974 ex.s. c 94 s 3.]