HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 91-4701, by Representatives Brekke, Hine, G. Fisher, Orr, Betrozoff, Jacobsen, Edmondson, Nelson, Valle, Wineberry, Rayburn, Pruitt, Phillips, Kremen, Spanel, Inslee, Cole, Rust, Hargrove, Basich, Franklin, H. Sommers, Grant, Belcher, Riley, Anderson, Roland, Prentice, Ogden, Heavey, Bray, Sheldon, Rasmussen, Winsley, Morton, Nealey, Silver, R. Johnson, Brough, Hochstatter, Vance, Moyer, Mielke, Paris, Lisk, Prince, Wynne, Wood, D. Sommers, P. Johnson, Chandler, Brumsickle, Neher, Forner, Schmidt, Casada, Wilson, Beck, R. Fisher, Peery, Jones and Scott.


     WHEREAS, Since 1891, outstanding young people from across the state of Washington have been pages in the House of Representatives; and

     WHEREAS, Pages provide an invaluable service to the House of Representatives by performing such helpful tasks as delivering messages, bills, amendments, and supplies, presenting the flags at the beginning of each session, addressing envelopes, answering telephone calls, and taking messages; and

     WHEREAS, All of the pages carry out their duties in a professional, courteous, and cheerful manner, helping make the legislative buildings more efficient and pleasant workplaces; and

     WHEREAS, Pages have the opportunity to meet and serve elected officials, and personally observe the legislative process; and

     WHEREAS, Legislative page school is an integral part of every page's experience, combining daily study of Washington state government with presentations prepared by each page; and

     WHEREAS, Pages share their experiences with other students, teachers, and members of the community;

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor all pages, past and present, on the occasion of the one-hundredth anniversary of the page program in the House of Representatives.


     I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of

     Resolution 4701 adopted by the House of Representatives

                         April 28, 1991.




       Alan Thompson, Chief Clerk, House of Representatives