HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.2007-4641, by Representatives Pearson and Kristiansen

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington state Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, High school wrestling has a long tradition of molding the student athlete of today into a leader of tomorrow and embraces the values of team and sacrifice, in addition to pride in the community and self; and

WHEREAS, In an example of excellence and camaraderie, the 2007 Sedro-Woolley High School wrestling team captured a state record-breaking sixth consecutive Class 3A Team State Championship and eleventh overall Team State Championship at the Washington Mat Classic; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Sedro-Woolley wrestling team has, through great fortitude and ability, finished 13 1/2 points ahead of the nearest competitor, with 154 1/2 points; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Sedro-Woolley team finished the Washington State Mat Classic with three first place victories; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Sedro-Woolley High School Wrestling Championship Team members include Derek Crouter, Tyler Eaton, Jordan Frisbee, Derek Garcia, Shane Hunt, Michael Lomsdalen, Trent Morgan, Randal Nersten, Kevin O'Neil, Cody Pohren, Matt Zitkovich, Ryan Morgan, and Ian O'Bryan; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Sedro-Woolley High School wrestling team was led by Head Coach Jay Breckenridge and Assistant Coaches Jack Hurd and Jaret Garcia; and

WHEREAS, The support and encouragement of families and the spirit shown by the school and the community were an integral part in this championship season;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the outstanding accomplishments of the Sedro-Woolley High School Wrestling Team in their record-breaking state championship season of 2006-2007 and congratulate the team members, coaches, families, students, and community that made such an accomplishment possible; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the members and coaches of the Sedro-Woolley High School wrestling team, Sedro-Woolley school district Superintendent Mark Venn, Athletic Director Todd Torgeson, and School Principal Mike Schweigert.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4641 adopted by the House of Representatives March 13, 2007

Richard Nafziger, Chief Clerk