SENATE BILL 5247

State of Washington60th Legislature2007 Regular SessionBy Senators Spanel and Haugen; by request of Board For Judicial
AdministrationAdministration

Read first time 01/15/2007. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

1 AN ACT Relating to superior court judicial positions; amending RCW 2 2.08.065; and creating a new section.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 Sec. 1. RCW 2.08.065 and 1999 c 245 s 1 are each amended to read 5 as follows:

There shall be in the county of Grant, three judges of the superior 6 7 court; in the county of Okanogan, two judges of the superior court; in 8 the county of Mason, two judges of the superior court; in the county of Thurston, eight judges of the superior court; in the counties of 9 10 Pacific and Wahkiakum jointly, one judge of the superior court; in the counties of Ferry, Pend Oreille, and Stevens jointly, two judges of the 11 12 superior court; ((and)) in the ((counties)) county of San Juan one 13 judge of the superior court; and in the county of Island ((jointly)), 14 two judges of the superior court.

15 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> Sec. 2. The two judicial positions serving San Juan 16 and Island counties jointly are allocated to Island county effective 17 the date upon which the judge for San Juan county superior court 1 assumes office. The additional judicial position created by section 1 2 of this act is allocated to San Juan county and becomes effective only 3 if:

(1) San Juan county, through its duly constituted legislative
authority, documents its approval of the additional position and its
agreement that it will pay out of county funds, without reimbursement
from the state, the expenses of the additional judicial position as
provided by state law or the state Constitution; and

9 (2) Island county, through its duly constituted legislative 10 authority, documents its approval and its agreement that it will pay 11 out of county funds, without reimbursement from the state, the expenses 12 of the two judicial positions currently serving San Juan and Island 13 counties jointly as provided by state law or the state Constitution.

--- END ---