SENATE BILL 6192

State of Washington 60th Legislature 2008 Regular Session

By Senators Hobbs, McAuliffe, Shin, and Stevens

Read first time 01/14/08. Referred to Committee on Ways & Means.

AN ACT Relating to community residential programs vendor rates; adding a new section to chapter 71A.10 RCW; creating a new section; and providing an effective date.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

5

6 7

8

9

10

1112

13

1415

16

17

18

NEW SECTION. Sec. 1. The legislature finds that the department of social and health services' current geographical classifications for setting vendor rates for supported living providers create a competitive disadvantage for Snohomish county providers compared to King county providers. Although King and Snohomish counties are often classified as part of the same metropolitan area for funding purposes, the current department classifications provide significantly higher rates for King county vendors. This results in significantly higher salaries for King county supported living workers. This lures Snohomish county workers to King county for the higher salaries, causing an unsustainably high turnover in Snohomish county.

The 2007 vendor rate increases provided a higher rate increase for King county. This exacerbated an already difficult problem. The legislature recognizes that the cost of doing business for supported

p. 1 SB 6192

- 1 living providers is nearly identical in King and Snohomish counties.
- 2 The legislature intends that Snohomish county supported living vendors
- 3 be paid the same rate as King county supported living vendors.
- 4 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 2.** A new section is added to chapter 71A.10 RCW to read as follows:
- For the purposes of setting vendor rates for supported living providers, the department must use the following geographic categories:
 - (1) Region 1: Snohomish and King counties;
- 9 (2) Region 2: Asotin, Chelan, Cowlitz, Benton, Clark, Franklin,
- 10 Island, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce, Skagit, Skamania, Spokane, Thurston,
- 11 Whatcom, and Yakima counties; and
- 12 (3) Region 3: Adams, Clallam, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Garfield,
- 13 Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln,
- 14 Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Orielle, San Juan, Stevens, Wahkiakum, Walla
- 15 Walla, and Whitman counties.

8

16 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 3.** This act takes effect July 1, 2008.

--- END ---

SB 6192 p. 2