SENATE BILL 6252

State of Washington 60th Legislature 2008 Regular Session

By Senators Hatfield and Zarelli; by request of Board For Judicial Administration

Read first time 01/14/08. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

- AN ACT Relating to changing the number of district court judges;
- 2 and amending RCW 3.34.010.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 **Sec. 1.** RCW 3.34.010 and 2005 c 91 s 1 are each amended to read as follows:
- 6 The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall
- 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two;
- 8 Clark, six; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, ((two)) <u>three</u>; Douglas, one; Ferry,
- 9 one; Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two;
- 10 Island, one; Jefferson, one; King, twenty-one; Kitsap, four; Kittitas,
- 11 two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan,
- 12 two; Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San Juan, one;
- 13 Skagit, two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, ten; Stevens,
- one; Thurston, three; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, two; Whatcom, two;
- 15 Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be increased only as
- 16 provided in RCW 3.34.020.

--- END ---

p. 1 SB 6252