FINAL BILL REPORT HB 1474

C 158 L 09

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Changing border county opportunity program provisions.

Sponsors: Representatives Orcutt, Wallace, Herrera and Moeller.

House Committee on Higher Education House Committee on Education Appropriations Senate Committee on Higher Education & Workforce Development

Background:

Washington laws regarding residency specify criteria that must be met before an individual is eligible to pay in-state tuition rates at public institutions of higher education. In most cases, an individual must have lived in Washington for a minimum of one year prior to the first day of the beginning of the academic term for which the individual has registered. Over the years, exceptions to this rule have been made for military personnel, their spouses and dependents, as well as special classes of high school seniors who have met additional qualifying criteria.

Reciprocity agreements allow some Washington students to attend public colleges in other states and pay lower tuition rates, with similar arrangements for out-of-state students coming to Washington's public colleges and universities. Washington has not had a reciprocity agreement with Oregon since the 2000-2001 academic year, at Oregon's request. However, other types of student exchange options are in effect.

Border County Higher Education Opportunity Project.

The Washington State University (WSU) Vancouver and Tri-Cities campuses and five Washington community colleges may charge resident tuition rates to students who live in 13 Oregon counties. Resident tuition rates at WSU Vancouver and Tri-Cities are only available to Oregon students who take eight credits or less. In fall 2004 about 90 Oregon students participated in the program at the WSU campuses. In 2003-2004 nearly 600 full-time equivalent Oregon residents took advantage of the program at Washington community colleges.

The 13 Oregon "border counties" are Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Washington.

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

House Bill Report - 1 - HB 1474

Tuition Waivers.

All community colleges may waive nonresident tuition for out-of-state students under provisions of the "non-specific" tuition waiver. In 2003-2004 more than 2,000 out-of-state students received this waiver at Washington community colleges.

Summary:

Columbia Basin Community College, Clark College, Lower Columbia Community College, Gray's Harbor Community College, and Walla Walla Community College may charge resident tuition rates to students who moved to Washington from a "border county" within the last 12 months and had lived in the border county for at least 90 days immediately prior to moving to Washington.

The Tri-Cities and Vancouver branch campuses of Washington State University may charge resident tuition rates to students who moved to Washington from one of nine Oregon border counties provided that the student: (1) moved to Washington within the last twelve months; (2) lived in the border county for at least 90 days immediately prior to moving to Washington; and (3) is enrolled in eight credits or less. The nine eligible Oregon counties include Columbia, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Washington.

Votes on Final Passage:

House 97 0 Senate 44 0

Effective: July 26, 2009