Washington State House of Representatives Office of Program Research

BILL ANALYSIS

Higher Education Committee

SB 5173

Brief Description: Authorizing the regional universities to confer honorary doctorate degrees.

Sponsors: Senators Shin, Fairley, Kastama, Sheldon, McAuliffe, Brown, Pridemore, Delvin, Hobbs, McDermott, Jarrett, Kilmer, Jacobsen and Kohl-Welles.

Brief Summary of Bill

• Authorizes the regional universities to confer honorary doctorate degrees.

Hearing Date: 3/18/09

Staff: Andi Smith (786-7304)

Background:

Central Washington University (CWU), Eastern Washington University (EWU), Western Washington University (WWU), and The Evergreen State College are authorized to confer honorary bachelor's and master's degrees upon persons other than graduates of their universities in recognition of the person's learning or devotion to education, literature, art, or science. Washington State University and the University of Washington may also confer honorary degrees without restriction as to level. Community and technical colleges are authorized to confer honorary associate of arts degrees.

Summary of Bill:

WWU, CWU, and EWU are authorized to confer honorary doctoral degrees upon persons other than graduates of their universities in recognition of the person's learning or devotion to education, literature, art, or science.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Effective Date: The bill takes effect 90 days after adjournment of the session in which the bill is passed.