FINAL BILL REPORT SB 5173

C 295 L 09

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Authorizing the regional universities to confer honorary doctorate degrees.

Sponsors: Senators Shin, Fairley, Kastama, Sheldon, McAuliffe, Brown, Pridemore, Delvin, Hobbs, McDermott, Jarrett, Kilmer, Jacobsen and Kohl-Welles.

Senate Committee on Higher Education & Workforce Development House Committee on Higher Education

Background: Central Washington University (CWU), Eastern Washington University (EWU), Western Washington University (WWU), and The Evergreen State College are authorized to confer honorary bachelor's and master's degrees upon persons other than graduates of their universities in recognition of the person's learning or devotion to education, literature, art, or science. Washington State University and the University of Washington may also confer honorary degrees without restriction as to level. Community and technical colleges are authorized to confer honorary associate of arts degrees.

Summary: In addition to honorary bachelor's and master's degrees, WWU, CWU, and EWU are authorized to confer honorary doctoral degrees in recognition of a person's learning or devotion to education, literature, art, or science. The restriction that these honorary degrees may only be granted to persons who did not graduate from the granting institution is removed.

Votes on Final Passage:

Senate 47 0

House 96 1 (House amended) Senate 42 0 (Senate concurred)

Effective: July 26, 2009

Senate Bill Report -1 - SB 5173

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.