## SENATE BILL REPORT SB 5233

As Reported by Senate Committee On: Government Operations & Elections, January 29, 2009

**Title**: An act relating to county elected officials keeping offices at the county seat.

**Brief Description**: Addressing county elected officials keeping offices at the county seat.

**Sponsors**: Senators Delvin, Hewitt, Schoesler, Carrell, Swecker, Parlette, Stevens and Honeyford.

## **Brief History:**

Committee Activity: Government Operations & Elections: 1/29/09 [DP].

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS & ELECTIONS

## Majority Report: Do pass.

Signed by Senators Fairley, Chair; Oemig, Vice Chair; Benton, McDermott, Pridemore and Swecker.

**Staff**: Aaron Gutierrez (786-7448)

**Background**: Each county's board of commissioners must provide furnished office space in the county courthouse for each of the county officers. That office is the official office for that officer. County officers include the clerk of the superior court, the sheriff, the treasurer, and the road engineer.

**Summary of Bill**: County boards of commissioners may provide additional office space outside the courthouse, so long as an office is maintained within the courthouse. The office in the courthouse does not need to be the official office.

Gender-specific language is replaced.

**Appropriation**: None.

**Fiscal Note**: Not requested.

Committee/Commission/Task Force Created: No.

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Senate Bill Report - 1 - SB 5233

Effective Date: Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

**Staff Summary of Public Testimony**: PRO: In many counties, the courthouse is not in the same area as the majority of the population. Many county officers already have multiple offices to address the needs of the population.

**Persons Testifying**: PRO: Mary Hunt, Douglas County; Leo Bowman, Benton County; David Sauter, Klickitat County.

Senate Bill Report - 2 - SB 5233