## SENATE BILL REPORT SB 5682

As Reported by Senate Committee On: Transportation, February 25, 2009

Title: An act relating to the realignment of transportation regions.

**Brief Description**: Requiring the secretary of transportation to realign the transportation regions.

Sponsors: Senators Haugen and Marr.

## **Brief History:**

Committee Activity: Transportation: 2/16/09, 2/25/09 [DPS].

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

**Majority Report**: That Substitute Senate Bill No. 5682 be substituted therefor, and the substitute bill do pass.

Signed by Senators Haugen, Chair; Swecker, Ranking Minority Member; Becker, Berkey, Delvin, Eide, Jarrett, Kauffman, Kilmer, King and Sheldon.

Staff: Amanda Cecil (786-7429)

**Background**: The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) is organized administratively into six regions that are generally separated along county boundaries. In addition to the six regions, there is a seventh office that functions similarly to a region office. This office is responsible for delivering major urban transportation projects in the Central Puget Sound area.

The boundaries of these regions are determined by WSDOT.

**Summary of Bill (Recommended Substitute)**: There are currently seven administratively formed transportation regions, including the Urban Corridors Office. The regions are realigned from seven to six regions. This consolidation will result in a 5 percent decrease in the amount of administrative staff by July 1, 2011, and a 10 percent reduction after that. The newly aligned regions generally include:

• the Olympic Region, containing Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Lewis, Kitsap, and Thurston Counties;

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

- the Southwest Region, containing Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, and Skamania Counties;
- the Northwest Region, containing San Juan, Island, Whatcom, and Skagit Counties;
- the Puget Sound Region, containing King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties;
- the South Central Region, containing Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Franklin, and Klickitat Counties, with a connection into Walla Walla County along state route 12 to the Tri-Cities area; and
- the Eastern Region, containing Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin Counties, and that portion of Walla Walla County not included above.

**EFFECT OF CHANGES MADE BY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE** (**Recommended Substitute**): This bill was changed in committee to add language that acknowledges that there are currently seven regions and that one is being eliminated. In recognizing that a region will be eliminated there will be an attendant reduction in regional staffing levels of 5 percent by July 1, 2011, and a reduction of 10 percent after July 1, 2011.

The alignment of the regions were also changed from:

- the Olympic Region, containing Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Pacific, Lewis, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, Skamania, and Kitsap Counties and the portion of Thurston County west of Interstate 5;
- the Northwest Region, containing San Juan, Island, Whatcom, and Skagit Counties and the portion of Snohomish County that includes and is north of Smokey Point;
- the Puget Sound Region, containing King and Pierce Counties and the portion of Thurston County that includes and is east of Interstate 5 and the portion of Snohomish County that is south of Smokey Point;
- the Central Region, containing Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, and Klickitat Counties; and
- the Eastern Region, containing Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Franklin, Benton, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin Counties.

to:

- the Olympic Region, containing Clallam, Jefferson, Grays Harbor, Mason, Lewis, Kitsap, and Thurston Counties;
- the Southwest Region, containing Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, and Skamania Counties;
- the Northwest Region, containing San Juan, Island, Whatcom, and Skagit Counties;
- the Puget Sound Region, containing King, Pierce, and Snohomish Counties;
- the South Central Region, containing Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Franklin, and Klickitat Counties, with a connection into Walla Walla County along state route 12 to the Tri-Cities area; and
- the Eastern Region, containing Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin Counties, and that portion of Walla Walla County not included above.

Appropriation: None.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

## Committee/Commission/Task Force Created: No.

Effective Date: Ninety days after adjournment of session in which bill is passed.

**Staff Summary of Public Testimony on Original Bill**: CON: Inefficiencies are created in the way the regional planning council reports to the regions by splitting Thurston County.

OTHER: WSDOT presented suggestions for how a regional consolidation could be better aligned.

Persons Testifying: CON: Lon Wyrick, Thurston Regional Planning Council.

OTHER: David Dye, WSDOT.