<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.2009-4631</u>, by Representatives Wallace, Angel, Warnick, Hasegawa, Goodman, Kenney, Dammeier, Sells, Johnson, Cox, Probst, Jacks, Hope, Campbell, Orwall, Hunt, Maxwell, Finn, Morrell, Quall, and Conway

WHEREAS, The Washington State Achievers Scholarship Program was founded in 2000 to assist high school students striving for higher education; and

WHEREAS, The Achievers Scholarship Program was created through a collaborative effort by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the College Success Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Sixteen high schools in Washington are Achievers schools with a focus on preparing students for a college education with mentors and scholarship opportunities; and

WHEREAS, The Achievers Scholarship Program aims to create a positive environment and provide funding for children of low-income families to attend college; and

WHEREAS, The Achievers Scholarship Program works actively with teachers to enforce the three Rs: Rigor in courses, relevance of the courses and coursework, and relationships in creating a college-going culture; and

WHEREAS, Before the creation of the program, only nine percent of children from low-income families earned a bachelor's degree; and

WHEREAS, Seventy-five percent of the participants in the Achievers Scholarship Program are expected to receive a bachelor's degree; and

WHEREAS, The Achievers Scholarship Program is a highly successful effort to increase college enrollment of students in Washington and has earned recognition for its contributions to education and youth;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives support the role of the Washington State Achievers Scholarship Program; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to all sixteen Achievers' high schools, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and the College Success Foundation.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4631 adopted by the House of Representatives March 11, 2009

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk