HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.2009-4645, by Representatives Alexander, Hunt, and Williams

WHEREAS, The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team finished the 2008-09 season with a 20-12 record; and

WHEREAS, The aptly named Geoducks were ranked 23rd in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics Division II final poll; and

WHEREAS, The Geoducks advanced to the Cascade Collegiate Conference title game against eventual champion Oregon Tech, and in so doing earned a spot in the NAIA Division II men's basketball tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team prevailed in their first test at the tournament by beating Bluefield College of Virginia in a 101-86 offensive shootout; and

WHEREAS, The Geoducks were led this year by Cascade Collegiate Conference Player of the Year Nate Menefee, who was second nationally in NAIA Division II in scoring, averaging 24.1 points per game; and

WHEREAS, Joining Menefee on the all-conference team was teammate Nick Moore, who was also named the conference's Newcomer of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team also consisted of Michael Ward, Tyrell Dixon, John Levi III, Amos Saffold, Scott Halasz, Johnny Sarysz, Julio Feliciano, Aaron Schlund, Marcus Wright, Anthony Gallagher, and Steve Trotter; and

WHEREAS, The Geoducks were coached by second-year head coach Jeff Drinkwine and assistant coaches Leonard Barnes, Lenny Rogers, and Kaelen Moore; and

WHEREAS, The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team exhibited a tireless work ethic, exemplary character, and true team spirit throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, The Geoducks have brought great pride and a sense of accomplishment to themselves, their families, their school, and the greater South Puget Sound community through their achievements this year both on and off the court;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team for their success this year and for their appearance in the NAIA Division II National Championships; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to The Evergreen State College Men's Basketball Team coach, Jeff Drinkwine, Athletic Director Dave Weber, and The Evergreen State College President, Dr. Thomas L. Purce.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4645 adopted by the House of Representatives April 8, 2009

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk