HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4684, by Representatives Schmick and Fagan

WHEREAS, The Town of Connell was officially incorporated on November 28, 1910, and will be celebrating its Centennial this year; and

WHEREAS, The first officers of the Town of Connell were: Mayor W.H. Miller; Treasurer H.J. Sohm; Councilmembers S.T. Bailie, M.H. Finch, N.T. Murry, Joe E. Janosky, and W.S. Moon; and T.Z. Warner as Town Clerk; and

WHEREAS, Connell was first settled in the mid-1800s by pioneer families, and the original settlement was known as Palouse Junction, and became an important crossroads of railroad and agricultural pursuits; and

WHEREAS, Connell is named for one of the Northern Pacific trainmen at the time; and

WHEREAS, Connell continued to prosper through the effort of hard-working citizens, and has come to be known as "Eastern Washington's Harvestland" for its bounteous agriculture; and

WHEREAS, Connell anchored the expansion of major food processing facilities and other businesses, the North Franklin School District, and Coyote Ridge Corrections Center, the largest correctional facility in the state; and

WHEREAS, Citizens have given admirable stewardship and built community pride; and students and athletes have excelled; and artists have created wall murals and world-class sculptures; and

WHEREAS, The current officers for the City of Connell are Mayor Garland D. Walton and Councilmembers Jared A. Broberg, Rhonda K. Quinton, Lee M. Barrow, Ron Boyer, Monica L. Pruett; and Maria T. Peña, City Clerk/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, The City of Connell is located at the crossroads of U.S. Highway 395 and State Route 260, and is positioned to move forward for years to come;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives officially recognize and congratulate the City of Connell and its citizens, past and present, on the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Town of Connell; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Garland D. Walton, Mayor of the City of Connell; to the City Councilmembers and City Officials; and to Kathy Valdez, Editor of The Franklin County Graphic.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4684 adopted by the House of Representatives February 25, 2010

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk