HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4687, by Representatives Schmick and Fagan

WHEREAS, The Connell High School football team made school history on December 5, 2009, by capping a perfect season with the 1-A state championship; and

WHEREAS, Connell qualified for state with a 51-7 victory in the South Central Athletic Conference

playoff; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles remained unbeaten and won their gridiron crown by defeating opponents from Cascade (Leavenworth), River View (Kennewick), Chelan, and Cascade Christian (Puyallup) by an average margin of 26 points per game; and

WHEREAS, Connell took a 21-0 lead in the first half of the state championship game, held the previously undefeated Cascade Christian Cougars to one touchdown and added another for a final score of 28-7; and

WHEREAS, It was the school-record sixth consecutive state-level appearance for the Eagles football program, which reached the championship games in 2006 and 2007; and

WHEREAS, Connell's football program has qualified for postseason play 19 times in 36 years and has a record of 24-17 during that span; and

WHEREAS, The 2009 Eagles collected a passel of all-conference honors, with players named most valuable on offense and defense, five players on first-team offense, six players named to first-team defense, and were led by the SCAC-East coach of the year, Wayne Riner;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor the 2009 Connell High School Eagles football team and coaches Wayne Riner, Clint Didier, Doug Edmonds, Zak Fife, Zeek Fife, Scott Forsyth, and Kyle Berry, on the occasion of capturing the school's second state football title.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4687 adopted by the House of Representatives February 25, 2010

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk