HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4701, by Representatives Schmick and Fagan

WHEREAS, The Colton High School basketball team reached the status of a superpower after winning their second State 1B girls' basketball championship at the SunDome on February 27, 2010; and WHEREAS, The Colton Wildcats basketball team has finished third, second, and first twice since the 1B classification was created; and

WHEREAS, To win the State Championship, the Wildcats defeated opponents from King's Way Christian by 79-15, Bickleton by 76-18, Columbia by 40-23, and Almira/Coulee-Hartline by 64-34 in the final: and

WHEREAS, The Colton Wildcats crushed their 2009 record for points in a tournament with 259, easily outdistancing their old total of 232; and

WHEREAS, The Wildcats established a tournament record for fewest points allowed with 89 and also made a record for margin of victory, which was a cumulative 169 points; and

WHEREAS, The Colton Wildcats established their dominance early on by leading 38-15 at the half; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 Wildcats showed that they deserved the state championship title when they finished their season with an outstanding 25-1 season record; and

WHEREAS, This is Colton's second state championship title since the 1983's Colton football champions;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor Kaden Dahmen, Grace Druffel, Kaitlin Druffel, McKenzie Heaslet, Mollie Kramer, Payton Meyer, Haley Moser, Kelsey Moser, Mikayla Nygreen, RayLynn Smith, Paige Vincent, Erin Weber, and Coach Clark Vining on the occasion of capturing the school's second-straight championship title.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4701 adopted by the House of Representatives March 10, 2010

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk