S-0199.1			
3-0133.I			

## SENATE BILL 5101

State of Washington 61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

By Senators Hobbs, Stevens, and Shin

Read first time 01/13/09. Referred to Committee on Health & Long-Term Care.

- AN ACT Relating to community residential programs vendor rates; adding a new section to chapter 71A.10 RCW; creating a new section;
- 3 providing an effective date; and declaring an emergency.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 5 NEW SECTION. Sec. 1. The legislature finds that the department of social and health services' current geographical classifications for 6 setting vendor rates for supported living providers create competitive disadvantage for Snohomish county providers compared to 8 9 King county providers. Although King and Snohomish counties are often classified as part of the same metropolitan area for funding purposes, 10 11 the current department classifications provide significantly higher 12 rates for King county vendors. This results in significantly higher 13 salaries for King county supported living workers. Snohomish county workers to King county for the higher salaries, 14 15 causing an unsustainably high turnover in Snohomish county.
- The 2007 vendor rate increases provided a higher rate increase for King county. This exacerbated an already difficult problem. The legislature recognizes that the cost of doing business for supported

p. 1 SB 5101

- 1 living providers is nearly identical in King and Snohomish counties.
- 2 The legislature intends that Snohomish county supported living vendors
- 3 be paid the same rate as King county supported living vendors.
- 4 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 2.** A new section is added to chapter 71A.10 RCW to read as follows:
  - For the purposes of setting vendor rates for supported living providers, the department must use the following geographic categories:
    - (1) Region 1: Snohomish and King counties;
- 9 (2) Region 2: Asotin, Chelan, Cowlitz, Benton, Clark, Franklin,
- 10 Island, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce, Skagit, Skamania, Spokane, Thurston,
- 11 Whatcom, and Yakima counties; and
- 12 (3) Region 3: Adams, Clallam, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Garfield,
- 13 Grant, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln,
- 14 Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Orielle, San Juan, Stevens, Wahkiakum, Walla
- 15 Walla, and Whitman counties.
- 16 NEW SECTION. Sec. 3. This act is necessary for the immediate
- 17 preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of the
- 18 state government and its existing public institutions, and takes effect
- 19 July 1, 2009.

6

7

8

--- END ---

SB 5101 p. 2