\_\_\_\_\_\_

## ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 5135

State of Washington 61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

By Senators Kline, Tom, McDermott, and Kohl-Welles; by request of Board For Judicial Administration

Read first time 01/14/09. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

- AN ACT Relating to the number of district court judges in King
- 2 county and Spokane county; and amending RCW 3.34.010.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 Sec. 1. RCW 3.34.010 and 2008 c 63 s 1 are each amended to read as follows:
- 6 The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall
- 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two;
- 8 Clark, six; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, three; Douglas, one; Ferry, one;
- 9 Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two; Island,
- one; Jefferson, one; King, ((twenty-one)) twenty-three in 2009, twenty-

five in 2010, and twenty-six in 2011; Kitsap, four; Kittitas, two;

- 12 Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two;
- 13 Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San Juan, one; Skagit,
- 14 two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, ((ten)) eight; Stevens,
- one; Thurston, three; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, two; Whatcom, two;
- 16 Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be increased only as
- 17 provided in RCW 3.34.020.

11

--- END ---

p. 1 ESB 5135