S-0509.1				

## SENATE BILL 5322

-----

State of Washington

61st Legislature

2009 Regular Session

By Senator Fairley

Read first time 01/20/09. Referred to Committee on Government Operations & Elections.

- 1 AN ACT Relating to civil service commissions for sheriffs' offices;
- 2 and amending RCW 41.14.020 and 41.14.030.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 Sec. 1. RCW 41.14.020 and 1959 c 1 s 2 are each amended to read as follows:
- 6 Definition of terms:

10

11

12

- 7 (1) "Commission" means the civil service commission, or combined 8 county civil service commission, herein created, and "commissioner" 9 means any one of the ((three)) members of any such commission;
  - (2) "Appointing power" means the county sheriff who is invested by law with power and authority to select, appoint, or employ any deputy, deputies, or other necessary employees subject to civil service;
- 13 (3) "Appointment" includes all means of selecting, appointing, or 14 employing any person to any office, place, position, or employment 15 subject to civil service;
- 16 (4) "County" means any county of the state, or any counties 17 combined pursuant to RCW 41.14.040 for the purpose of carrying out the 18 provisions of this chapter;

p. 1 SB 5322

1 (5) "Deputy sheriff or other members of the office of county 2 sheriff" means all persons regularly employed in the office of county 3 sheriff either on a part time or full time basis.

## Sec. 2. RCW 41.14.030 and 1959 c 1 s 3 are each amended to read as follows:

4 5

6

7

8

9 10

11

12

13 14

15

16

1718

19 20

21

22

23

2425

26

27

2829

30

31

32

3334

35

36

(1) There is created in each county and in each combination of counties, combined pursuant to RCW 41.14.040 to carry out the provisions of this chapter, a civil service commission which shall be composed of three persons, or five persons under subsection (2) of this The commission members shall be appointed by the board of county commissioners, or boards of county commissioners of each combination of counties, within sixty days after December 4, 1958. No person shall be appointed to the commission who is not a citizen of the United States, a resident of the county, or one of the counties combined, for at least two years immediately preceding his appointment, and an elector of the county wherein he resides. The term of office of the commissioners shall be six years, except that the first three members of the commission shall be appointed for different terms, as follows: One to serve for a period of two years, one to serve for a period of four years, and one to serve for a period of six years. Any member of the commission may be removed from office for incompetency, incompatibility, or dereliction of duty, or malfeasance in office, or other good cause: PROVIDED, That no member of the commission shall be removed until charges have been preferred, in writing, due notice, and a full hearing had. Any vacancy in the commission shall be filled by the county commissioners for the unexpired term. Two members of the commission shall constitute a quorum and the votes of any two members concurring shall be sufficient for the decision of all matters and the transaction of all business to be decided or transacted by the commission. Confirmation of the appointment of commissioners by any legislative body shall not be required. At the time of appointment not more than two commissioners shall be adherents of the same political party. No member after appointment shall hold any salaried public office or engage in county employment, other than his commission duties. The members of the commission shall serve without compensation.

SB 5322 p. 2

(2)(a) Each county and each combination of counties under RCW 41.14.040 may, by ordinance, increase the number of members serving on a commission from three to five members. If a commission is increased to five members, the terms of the three commissioners serving at the time of the increase are not affected. The initial term of office for the two additional commissioners is six years.

(b) Three commissioners constitute a quorum for a five-member commission and the votes of three commissioners concurring are sufficient for the decision of all matters and the transaction of all business decided or transacted by a five-member commission.

(c) At the time of appointment of the two additional commissioners, no more than three commissioners may be adherents of the same political party.

(d) Except as provided otherwise in this subsection (2), subsection
(1) of this section applies to five-member commissions.

--- END ---

p. 3 SB 5322