<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 4665</u>, by Representatives Nealey, Walsh, Asay, Bailey, Harris, Orcutt, Dahlquist, Rivers, Angel, Haler, Hope, Smith, Pearson, Springer, Schmick, Johnson, Goodman, Ross, Parker, Rodne, Shea, Dammeier, Warnick, Tharinger, Chandler, Kristiansen, Van De Wege, Pettigrew, Sullivan, Moeller, Hasegawa, McCoy, Appleton, Liias, Darneille, Dickerson, Sells, Seaquist, Lytton, Jinkins, Takko, Stanford, Pollet, Haigh, Hunt, Kelley, Ormsby, Hudgins, Maxwell, Roberts, Ryu, Santos, Green, Kretz, Overstreet, and Buys

WHEREAS, The City of Walla Walla was granted a municipal charter in January of 1862, by the Washington Territorial Legislature, making 2012 its 150th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla is the largest city in and the county seat of Walla Walla County, Washington, United States; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla was one of the first areas between the Rockies and the Cascades to be permanently settled by American pioneers; and

WHEREAS, Washington State's first constitution and basis for legal precedent was ratified in Walla Walla County; and

WHEREAS, In 1862 Walla Walla established the city's first public school and first firefighting company, contributing to the bedrock of city formation; and

WHEREAS, Baker Boyer Bank, the oldest bank in the state of Washington, was founded in Walla Walla; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla, a result of a gold rush in Idaho, during the 1860s was the largest community in the territory of Washington, at one point slated to be the new state's capital; and

WHEREAS, Miles C. Moore, of Walla Walla, was appointed the governor of Washington Territory, until the first state election in November, and the territorial governor's home still stands on Bryant Avenue; and

WHEREAS, The first Presbyterian Church west of the Rockies was organized in Walla Walla County; and

WHEREAS, The first railroad service opened in 1891 as the Walla Walla/Columbia Railroad; and WHEREAS, Walla Walla is the location of the historic Whitman Mission which was a crucial hub

for travelers on the Oregon Trail; and

WHEREAS, In 1805 Lewis and Clark fist passed through Walla Walla County; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla is home to Fort Walla Walla which was built in 1818, and later became a military fort in 1856; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla is knows for its rich traditions surrounding the Sweet Onion such as the Walla Walla Sweet Onion Festival; and

WHEREAS, The Walla Walla Sweet Onion became the Washington state vegetable in 2007; and WHEREAS, Walla Walla is home to some of America's finest wines; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla is home to many culturally significant arts including a symphony, founded in 1907, which is the oldest continuously operating symphony west of the Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, Walla Walla was named one of the National Trust for Historic Preservation 2002s Dozen Distinctive Destinations;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, By the House of Representatives of the State of Washington, that Walla Walla be congratulated and honored for its prominent achievements and outstanding contributions to the state of Washington; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Jim Barrow, the Mayor of Walla Walla; Gregg C. Loney, District One County Commissioner; Perry L. Dozier, District Two County Commissioner; and Gregory A. Tompkins, District Three County Commissioner.

Resolution 4665 adopted by the House of Representatives February 16, 2012

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk