# SENATE BILL REPORT SB 5482

#### As of April 12, 2021

**Title:** An act relating to additive transportation funding and appropriations.

Brief Description: Concerning additive transportation funding and appropriations.

**Sponsors:** Senators Hobbs, Cleveland, Das, Keiser, Kuderer, Padden, Randall, Sheldon and Wilson, C..

#### **Brief History:**

Committee Activity: Transportation: 4/12/21.

### **Brief Summary of Bill**

• Makes additive transportation appropriations for the 2021-23 fiscal biennium.

### SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

**Staff:** Hayley Gamble (786-7452)

**Background:** The operating and capital expenses of state transportation agencies and programs are funded on a biennial basis by an omnibus transportation budget adopted by the Legislature in odd-numbered years. Supplemental budgets may be adopted during the biennium, making various modifications to agency appropriations. New expenditures supported by new revenue sources are sometimes provided for in a separate omnibus transportation spending bill.

**Summary of Bill:** Appropriations are provided for certain state transportation agencies and programs for the 2021-23 fiscal biennium based on additional revenues provided in SB 5483.

Budget summary materials can be found in the SCS tab in the committee materials for the

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

public hearing.

Appropriation: Various

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

## Creates Committee/Commission/Task Force that includes Legislative members: No.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.

**Staff Summary of Public Testimony:** Please refer to the April 12th, 2021 recording of the public hearing on the Senate Transportation Committee Schedules, Agendas & Documents website at https://app.leg.wa.gov/committeeschedules/#//TRAN/.

Persons Testifying: PRO: Senator Steve Hobbs, Prime Sponsor; Rob Putaansuu, Mayor of Port Orchard; Kit Kuhn, Mayor of Gig Harbor; Michael Moran, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation; MaryAlice Wallis, Mayor of Longview; Roger Finley, Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation; Justin Leighton, Washington State Transit Association; Alex Alston, Washington Bikes; Dana Ralph, City of Kent, Mayor; Sean Eagan, The Northwest Seaport Alliance; Katherine Hollis, Eastrail Partners; Jerry VanderWood, AGC of Washington; Ron Chairman Allen, Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe; Regan Bolli, City of Covington; Randy Corman, Renton City Council President; Kim Roscoe, Mayor, City of Fife; Isaac Kastama, Washington Business Alliance, & Low Carbon Prosperity Institute; Uriel Ybarra, Community Transit; Kris Koski, City of Aberdeen; Marian Dacca, Association of Washington Cities; Kelly Snyder, Snohomish County Public Works Director; Brett Gailey, Mayor of Lake Stevens; Andrew Thompson, Chair of Snohomish County Committee for Improved Transportation; Ron Arp, Identity Clark County; Stacey Smith, ControlTek; Eric Fuller, Fuller Group CRE; Anne McEnerny-Ogle, Mayor, City of Vancouver; Mike Bomar, Port of Vancouver USA; Corky Collier, Columbia Corridor Association; Rocale Timmons, SECO Development - Senior VP of Planning & Development; Amber Carter, Portland Vancouver Junction Railroad; Daniel Weaver, Chair, Clark County Railroad Advisory Board; Randy Williams, BYCX Railroad; Douglas Auburg; Barb Tolbert, City of Arlington, Mayor; James Malinowski, Resident adjacent to Chelatchie Prairie Railroad; Karen Doherty; Jim Hedrick, Greater Spokane Incorporated; Luke Esser, Kalispel Tribe.

CON: Jeff Pack, Washington Citizens Against Unfair Taxes; Tim eyman, PermanentOffense.com; Joe Kunzler.

OTHER: Clifford Traisman, Washington Environmental Council, Washington Conservation Voters; Bryce Yadon, Transportation Choices Coalition; Leah Missik, Climate Solutions; Mike Ennis, AWB; Krystal Monteros, Disability Mobility Initiative; Leigh Spruce, Disability Mobility Initiative; Jaime Torres; Harry Kiick, Disability Mobility Initiative; Micah Lusignan, Disability Mobility Initiative; Anna Zivarts, Disability Mobility Initiative, Disability Rights WA; Bill Adamson, South Sound Military & Communities Partnership; Roger Millar, Washington State Department of Transportation; Quinn Majeski, City of Seattle; Angela Birney, Mayor, City of Redmond; Lisa Brown, Commerce; David Hill, SR162 Community Group; Maxine Herbert-Hill, SR162 Community Group; Jeff DeVere, Northwest Grocery Association; Anitra Sudderth, SR162 Community Group; Scott Bonjukian, Lid I-5.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: No one.