FINAL BILL REPORT SB 5929

C 176 L 22

Synopsis as Enacted

Brief Description: Changing the membership of the legislative-executive WorkFirst poverty reduction oversight task force.

Sponsors: Senators Wilson, C. and Nguyen; by request of Department of Social and Health Services.

Senate Committee on Human Services, Reentry & Rehabilitation House Committee on Housing, Human Services & Veterans

Background: Legislative-Executive WorkFirst Poverty Reduction Oversight Task Force. The Legislative-Executive WorkFirst Poverty Reduction Oversight Task Force (LEWPRO) was established in 2018, replacing the Legislative-Executive WorkFirst Oversight Task Force.

LEWPRO is tasked with:

- overseeing the operation of the WorkFirst and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families programs;
- determining evidence-based outcome measures for the WorkFirst program;
- developing accountability measures for WorkFirst recipients and agencies responsible for recipient progress toward self-sufficiency;
- collaborating with the Intergenerational Poverty Advisory Committee to develop and monitor strategies to prevent and address adverse childhood experiences and reduce intergenerational poverty;
- seeking input on best practices for poverty reduction from service providers, community-based organizations, legislators, state agencies, stakeholders, the business community, and subject matter experts;
- collaborating with partner agencies and the Intergenerational Poverty Advisory Committee to analyze available data and information regarding intergenerational poverty; and
- recommending policy actions to the Governor and the Legislature to effectively reduce intergenerational poverty and promote and encourage self-sufficiency.

Senate Bill Report - 1 - SB 5929

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Legislative-Executive WorkFirst Poverty Reduction Oversight Task Force Membership. Voting members include four members of the Senate, four members of the House of Representatives, and eight members representing the Department of Social and Health Services, the Department of Children, Youth, and Families, the Department of Commerce, the Employment Security Division, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Department of Health, the Department of Corrections, and the State Board on Community and Technical Colleges. The Governor appoints five nonvoting members to LEWPRO representing the Commission on African-American Affairs, the Commission on Hispanic Affairs, the Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs, the Governor's Office of Indian Affairs, and the Office of Financial Management.

The Women's Commission. The purpose of the Women's Commission is to improve the well-being of women, by enabling them to participate fully in all fields of endeavor, assisting them in obtaining governmental services, and promoting equal compensation and fairness in employment for women. The Women's Commission addresses issues relevant to the problems and needs of women, such as domestic violence, child care, child support, sexual discrimination, sexual harassment, equal compensation and job pathways opportunities in employment, and the specific needs of women of color. The Women's Commission was created in 2018 and consists of nine members.

<u>The LGBTQ Commission</u>. The LGBTQ Commission was created to improve the state's interface with the LGBTQ community, identify the needs of its members, and ensure there is an effective means of advocating for LGBTQ equity in all aspects of state government. The LGBTQ Commission was created in 2019 and consists of 15 members.

<u>The Office of Equity</u>. The Office of Equity was created in 2021 and works with state agencies to increase access to equitable opportunities to bridge opportunity gaps and reduce disparities. The Office of Equity also works with communities to develop the state's five-year equity plan.

Intergenerational Poverty Advisory Committee. The Intergenerational Poverty Advisory Committee (Committee) was created in 2018 to advise LEWPRO. Committee members are appointed by the secretary of the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS), and staff support is provided by DSHS. The Committee must choose co-chairs from among its membership. Committee members must include representatives of advocacy groups; academic experts in childhood poverty, education, or early childhood education; faith-based organizations; tribal governments; families impacted by poverty; local government; the business community; a subject matter expert in infant mental health; the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF); and DSHS.

Summary: LEWPRO's membership is expanded to include a representative from the Women's Commission, the LGBTQ Commission and the Office of Equity. These non-voting positions are appointed by the Governor.

The Committee is expanded to include a member from a group representing accredited financial counselors.

Votes on Final Passage:

Senate 33 16

House 67 31 (House amended) Senate 31 18 (Senate concurred)

Effective: June 9, 2022