## SENATE RESOLUTION 8641

By Senators Gildon and Conway

1 WHEREAS, For 89 years the annual Daffodil Festival has been a 2 cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County; and

WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival has been an anticipated event that continues to bring communities together to celebrate unity within our diverse community; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception in the 1920s as a modest garden party, it has grown into the festival that we all know and love today and this year celebrates its 89th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Each year, 23 young women pass through a rigorous selection process to represent their schools as well as Pierce County communities through ambassadorship, community service, and civic pride; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Daffodil Festival royal court serve as role models for youth around our region. Their volunteerism, civic responsibility, and willingness to be ambassadors for Pierce County serve as a light for youth to look up to; and

WHEREAS, This year's Daffodil Festival royal court includes: Darya Booker, Puyallup High School; Willow Warren, Lakes High School; Kaitlyn Bolland, Bonney Lake High School; Maeson Sterrenburg, Sumner High School; Amber Burgess, Orting High School; Clara Blakeslee, Curtis High School; Julia Schmidt, White River High School; Aiysha Ali, Foss High School; Samantha Calland, Fife High School; Caitlyn Ye, Stadium High School; Andrea Galvin, Silas High School; Julia

p. 1 8641

- 1 Odhiambo, Rogers High School; Arin Havenstrite, Emerald Ridge
- 2 High School; Victoria Plom, Franklin Pierce High School; Zana
- 3 Stewart, Bethel High School; Alexis Powell, Eatonville High
- 4 School; Isha Hussein, Lincoln High School; Lilly Nonamaker,
- 5 Clover Park High School; Kaely Harding, Graham Kapowsin High
- 6 School; Sydney Brickey, Spanaway Lake High School; Nakiya-Rene
- 7 Jastillana, Washington High School; Thien-Ha Ngo, Mount Tahoma
- 8 High School; and Faith Hudson, Chief Leschi High School. In
- 9 recognition of the three princesses who were not included on the
- 10 2021 Daffodil Royal Court resolution, we would like to
- 11 acknowledge: Livy Sanders, Bethel High School; Mackenzie Sunde,
- 12 Spanaway Lake High School; and Hailee Englehart, Emerald Ridge
- 13 High School;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State
- 15 Senate recognize and honor the many contributions made to our
- 16 state by the Daffodil Festival, its organizers, and its royal
- 17 court for the past 89 years; and
- 18 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 19 immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the
- 20 2022 Daffodil Festival officers and to the 23 members of the
- 21 2022 Daffodil Festival royalty.
- 22 I, Sarah Bannister, Secretary of the Senate,
- 23 do hereby certify that this is a true and
- 24 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8641,
- 25 adopted by the Senate
- 26 March 1, 2022
- 27 SARAH BANNISTER
- 28 Secretary of the Senate

p. 2 8641