NOTICE: Formatting and page numbering in this document are different from that in the original published version.







House Chamber, Olympia, Monday, March 16, 2009


        The House was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by the Speaker (Representative Morris presiding). The Clerk called the roll and a quorum was present.


        The flags were escorted to the rostrum by a Sergeant at Arms Color Guard, Pages Trenton Turner and Laexander Vaith. The Speaker (Representative Morris presiding) led the Chamber in the Pledge of Allegiance. The prayer was offered by Pastor George Bedlion, Bethany Baptist Church, Puyallup.


        Reading of the Journal of the previous day was dispensed with and it was ordered to stand approved.


        There being no objection, the House advanced to the sixth order of business.




        SENATE BILL NO. 5221, by Senators Tom, Honeyford, Kohl-Welles, Haugen, Kilmer and Holmquist


        Regarding distressed property conveyances.


        The bill was read the second time.


        With the consent of the House, amendment (429) was withdrawn.


        There being no objection, the rules were suspended, the second reading considered the third and the bill was placed on final passage.


        Representative Goodman spoke in favor of the passage of the bill.


        The Speaker (Representative Morris presiding) stated the question before the House to be the final passage of Senate Bill No. 5221.




        On motion of Representative Santos, Representatives Hurst, Upthegrove and Williams were excused. On motion of Representative Hinkle, Representatives Campbell, Condotta, Crouse, Ross and Walsh were excused.




        The Clerk called the roll on the final passage of Senate Bill No. 5221 and the bill passed the House by the following vote: Yeas, 89; Nays, 0; Absent, 0; Excused, 8.

        Voting yea: Representatives Alexander, Anderson, Angel, Appleton, Armstrong, Bailey, Blake, Carlyle, Chandler, Chase, Clibborn, Cody, Conway, Cox, Dammeier, Darneille, DeBolt, Dickerson, Driscoll, Dunshee, Eddy, Ericks, Ericksen, Finn, Flannigan, Goodman, Grant-Herriot, Green, Haigh, Haler, Hasegawa, Herrera, Hinkle, Hope, Hudgins, Hunt, Hunter, Jacks, Johnson, Kagi, Kelley, Kenney, Kessler, Kirby, Klippert, Kretz, Kristiansen, Liias, Linville, Maxwell, McCoy, McCune, Miloscia, Moeller, Morrell, Morris, Nelson, O'Brien, Orcutt, Ormsby, Orwall, Parker, Pearson, Pedersen, Pettigrew, Priest, Probst, Quall, Roach, Roberts, Rodne, Rolfes, Santos, Schmick, Seaquist, Sells, Shea, Short, Simpson, Smith, Springer, Sullivan, Takko, Van De Wege, Wallace, Warnick, White, Wood and Mr. Speaker.

        Excused: Representatives Campbell, Condotta, Crouse, Hurst, Ross, Upthegrove, Walsh and Williams.


        SENATE BILL NO. 5221, having received the necessary constitutional majority, was declared passed.


        There being no objection, the House advanced to the eighth order of business.


        There being no objection, the Committee on Judiciary was relieved of ENGROSSED SENATE BILL NO. 5519, and the bill was referred to the Committee on Human Services.


        There being no objection, the Committee on Technology, Energy & Communications was relieved of SENATE BILL NO. 5560, and the bill was referred to the Committee on Ecology & Parks.


        There being no objection, the House advanced to the eleventh order of business.


        There being no objection, the House adjourned until 9:55 a.m., March 17, 2009, the 65th Day of the Regular Session.