WAC 467-01-010 Description of organization. The Washington traffic safety commission is a ten-member commission organized under the provisions of chapter 43.59 RCW, and under which the commission is to lead statewide efforts and build partnerships to save lives and prevent injuries on our roadways for the health, safety, and benefit of our communities. The commission consists of the governor, as chairman; the superintendent of public instruction; the director of department of licensing; the secretary of the department of transportation; the chief of the state patrol; the secretary of the department of social and health services; the secretary of the department of health; a representative of the association of Washington cities appointed by the governor; a member of the Washington state association of counties appointed by the governor; and a representative of the judiciary appointed by the governor. The director of the Washington traffic safety commission, appointed by the governor, serves as secretary to the commission and is responsible for carrying into effect the commissions orders and rules and regulations promulgated by the commission. The director is also authorized to employ staff necessary to carry out the orders, rules and regulations of the commission. As secretary, the director coordinates the activities of the commission and supervises the work of the staff of the commission.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 43.59.070. WSR 17-21-042, § 467-01-010, filed 10/13/17, effective 11/13/17. Statutory Authority: RCW 43.59.040. WSR 91-23-101, § 467-01-010, filed 11/20/91, effective 12/21/91; Order 1, § 467-01-010, filed 4/11/77.]