WSR 99-12-088



[ Filed June 1, 1999, 1:38 p.m. ]

EHB 2232 of the 1999 legislative session creates a safety and health impact grant program. This program will provide safety and health impact grants for the purposes of education, training, technical innovation, hazard control, and innovative programs that address state-wide safety and health priorities established by the WISHA Advisory Committee. EHB 2232 passed with full bipartisan legislative support, business and labor agreement and support from the department.

A critical component of the safety and health impact grant program is the legislatively mandated grant review committee. This committee will be a subcommittee of the WISHA Advisory Committee. The committee will prepare requests for proposals, receive, review, and process grant applications, and identify applications that merit funding. Names of individuals that would be interested in serving on the grant review committee are to be submitted to the director of the Department of Labor and Industries.

Of the nine members of the safety and health impact grant review committee, eight are defined as state-wide employee and employer representatives. The statute specifically requires that names be submitted by recognized state-wide organizations of employees or submitted by recognized state-wide organizations of employers. Each of the employer and employee membership positions is to be appointed from a list of at least three names per position. The legislation therefore requires that at least twelve employee and twelve employer names be submitted from which a total of eight members will be selected. One person acting ex officio from the Department of Labor and Industries will round out the full committee.

A biographical sketch, brief work history and a description of the individual’s qualifications for appointment to the committee is to be submitted. A statement briefly describing why the organization submitting names is qualified to do so under the provisions of EHB 2232 is also requested.

Nominations are due no later than June 30, 1999, and should be sent to Gary Moore, Director, Department of Labor and Industries, P.O. Box 44001, Olympia, WA 98504-4001, or faxed to (360) 902-4202.

All nominations will be carefully reviewed. Committee membership is expected to be announced by July 15, 1999. The first meeting will be on July 28, 1999, at the Labor and Industries building in Tumwater, beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Any questions about the committee or the submittal process should be directed to Michael Silverstein, Assistant Director for WISHA Services, at (360) 902-5495.

Gary Moore


Washington State Code Reviser's Office