HOUSE BILL REPORT ESHB 2343

As Amended by the Senate

Title: An act relating to transportation funding and appropriations.

Brief Description: Funding transportation.

Sponsors: By House Committee on Transportation (originally sponsored by Representatives K. Schmidt, R. Fisher, D. Schmidt and Thompson; by request of Office of Financial Management).

Brief History:

Committee Activity:

Transportation: 1/15/96, 2/7/96 [DPS].

Floor Activity:

Passed House: 2/14/96, 73-23.

Senate Amended.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Majority Report: The substitute bill be substituted therefor and the substitute bill do pass. Signed by 21 members: Representatives K. Schmidt, Chairman; Benton, Vice Chairman; Mitchell, Vice Chairman; Skinner, Vice Chairman; Hatfield, Assistant Ranking Minority Member; Backlund; Blanton; Buck; Cairnes; Chandler; Chopp; Elliot; Hankins; Horn; Johnson; McMahan; Ogden; Patterson; Robertson; Scott and Sterk.

Minority Report: Do not pass. Signed by 5 members: Representatives R. Fisher, Ranking Minority Member; Brown; Quall; Romero and Tokuda.

Staff: Brad Lovaas (786-7307).

Background: Appropriation authority is required for the expenditure of state funds. State government operates on the basis of a fiscal biennium that begins on July 1 of each odd-numbered year. A biennial transportation budget was enacted in the 1995 session to fund transportation agencies and programs from July 1, 1995 to June 30, 1997.

The Governor signed into law the 1995-97 transportation budget totaling just under \$3.117 billion of appropriations from over 30 different funds and accounts.

Two-thirds of the moneys appropriated in the transportation budget are for capital programs, and one-third is for operating programs of the transportation agencies.

The motor vehicle fund is the primary funding source of transportation programs, providing for 45 percent, or \$1.4 billion, of transportation appropriations in the 1995-97 transportation budget.

The Legislature provided fiscal year 1996 (FY 96)-only funding for several transportation agencies' programs.

Summary of Bill: Appropriation authority of the transportation agencies is increased by \$152.1 million for the remainder of the 1995-97 biennium. This proposed substitute bill would appropriate \$152.1 million to nine state agencies: the Department of Transportation (\$79.0 million), the Transportation Improvement Board (\$34.8 million), the County Road Administration Board (\$15.0 million), the Department of Licensing (\$14.4 million), the State Patrol (\$8.3 million), the Legislative Transportation Committee (\$300,000), the Legislative Evaluation and Accountability Program (\$205,000), the Transportation Commission (\$87,000), and the Department of Ecology (\$25,000).

EFFECT OF SENATE AMENDMENT(S): As amended by the Senate, appropriation authority of the transportation agencies is increased by \$171.2 million for the remainder of the 1995-97 biennium. \$171.2 million is appropriated to eight state agencies: the Department of Transportation (\$87.7 million), the Transportation Improvement Board (\$39.1 million), the County Road Administration Board (\$20.0 million), the Department of Licensing (\$15.6 million), the State Patrol (\$8.3 million), the Legislative Transportation Committee (\$250,000), the Legislative Evaluation and Accountability Program (\$205,000), and the Transportation Commission (\$87,000).

Appropriation: \$152.1 million.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.

Testimony For: Additional money will be provided for Washington State Patrol salaries, HOV lane work, and other highway construction projects.

Testimony Against: None.

Testified: John Fricke, Office of Financial Management; Larry Dzieza, Office of Financial Management; Chris Freed, Office of Financial Management; Gina Terry, Office of Financial Management; Kathy Friedt, Department of Licensing; Chief Annette Sandberg, Washington State Patrol; Sid Morrison, Department of

Transportation; Royce Pollard, city of Vancouver; Thaur Rorabaugh, city of Vancouver; Doris Johnson, Vancouver Bolt Company; Patsy Vanhourekerk, Clark County Credit Union; Arch Miller, Port of Vancouver; Bob Mack, city of Bellevue; Jerry Fay, Transportation Improvement Board; Eric Berger, County Road Administration Board; and Larry Farleigh, State Parks.