HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 94-4602, by Representatives Foreman, Ebersole, Appelwick, Backlund, Ballard, Ballasiotes, Basich, Beeksma, Benton, Blanton, Boldt, Brown, Brumsickle, Buck, Cairnes, Campbell, Carlson, Carrell, Casada, Chandler, Chappell, Chopp, Clements, Cody, Cole, Conway, Cooke, Costa, Crouse, Dellwo, Delvin, Dickerson, Dyer, Elliot, G. Fisher, R. Fisher, Fuhrman, Goldsmith, Grant, Hankins, Hargrove, Hatfield, Hickel, Honeyford, Horn, Huff, Hymes, Jacobsen, Johnson, Kessler, Koster, Kremen, Lambert, Lisk, Mason, Mastin, McMahan, McMorris, Mielke, Mitchell, Morris, Mulliken, Ogden, Padden, Patterson, Pelesky, Pennington, Poulsen, Quall, Radcliff, Reams, Regala, Robertson, Romero, Rust, D. Schmidt, K. Schmidt, Schoesler, Scott, Sehlin, Sheahan, Sheldon, Sherstad, Silver, Skinner, Smith, Sommers, Stevens, Talcott, Thibaudeau, B. Thomas, L. Thomas, Thompson, Tokuda, Valle, Van Luven, Veloria and Wolfe

WHEREAS, Professional and volunteer fire fighters serve selflessly to protect citizens throughout the state of Washington and the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, The brave men and women who perform as fire fighters willingly accept the grave dangers inherent in their job in order to protect our lives and our property; and

WHEREAS, Many fire fighters have sacrificed their limbs and even their lives while courageously discharging the difficult duties of their profession; and

WHEREAS, On January 5, 1995, the Seattle Fire Department responded to a warehouse fire and began to contain and extinguish the flames; and

WHEREAS, While attempting to fight the fire from inside the building, four heroic fire fighters died when an explosion occurred, the floor collapsed, and they were trapped in the deadly flames; and

WHEREAS, The four skilled fire fighters who died were James T. Brown of Port Orchard, Randall R. Terlicker of Mill Creek, Walter D. Kilgore of Kirkland, and Gregory M. Shoemaker of Maple Valley; and

WHEREAS, They unselfishly gave their lives in the line of duty while attempting to preserve the safety and wellbeing of the community and its citizens;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington honor James T. Brown, Randall R. Terlicker, Walter D. Kilgore, and Gregory M. Shoemaker for the dedicated service that characterized their lives and for the outstanding example of sacrifice they set for others; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the state of Washington offer condolences and prayers to the families and friends of James T. Brown, Randall R. Terlicker, Walter D. Kilgore, and Gregory M. Shoemaker during this time of grief for their loved ones; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the families of James T. Brown, Randall R. Terlicker, Walter D. Kilgore, and Gregory M. Shoemaker.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4602 adopted by the House of Representatives January 9, 1995.

Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk