HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 96-4754, by Representatives Linville, Basich, Quall and Goldsmith

WHEREAS, Lynden Christian High School has a tradition of sporting superior athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, Parents, faculty, and administrators enthusiastically support students and programs at Lynden Christian High School; and

WHEREAS, The Lynden Christian girls basketball team, the "Lyncs", has captured its sixth Class "A" state title; and

WHEREAS, Lyncs team members have carved their own niche in sports record books; and

WHEREAS, Four of the team's six championship titles have been during the 1990's; and

WHEREAS, The 1995-96 Lynden Christian Lyncs has a 28-0 record and is the first Whatcom County League team to go undefeated; and

WHEREAS, Team members of the 1995-96 Lyncs include Tarelle Van Dyk, Krista Kooy, Erin Hof, Kari Hamstra, Shannon Dykstra, Megan Bajema, Carla Geleynse, Ranae Meenderinck, Julie Wynstra, Lisa Berendsen, Shara Bode, and Rachel Timmermans; and

WHEREAS, The Lyncs head coach is Curt De Haan, with assistant coaches Keven Van Berkum, Dan Kaemingk, and Jami Digerness; and

WHEREAS, The team managers are Jill Van Andel and Heidi Van Loo, with stats taken by Heidi De Haan; and

WHEREAS, 1995-96 Lynden Christian cheerleaders include Trisha Koetje, Kara Terpstra, Janelle Matter, Wendy Blankers, Jodie Janzen, Darcy Spoelstra, Kathy Elenbaas, Danya VanderVeen, Lance Bosman, and Tim VanderMey;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of Washington salute the Lynden Lyncs team members, coaches, and managers for their undisputed championship abilities and the pride they bring to the citizens of Whatcom County and the State of Washington; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Lynden Christian High School, members of the Lyncs basketball team, coaches, team personnel, and to any other individual or entity deemed an appropriate recipient.