SENATE RESOLUTION 1996-8685

By Senators Thibaudeau, Heavey, McAuliffe, Kohl and Wood

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The O'Dea High School Irish football team from Seattle won 1995 Class AA State Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, The O'Dea High School Irish football team from Seattle won the State Academic Championship with a combined 3.24 grade point average; and

WHEREAS, The O'Dea Football coaches showed leadership and skill in focusing their team on accomplishing their goal of winning the State AA Football Championships; and

WHEREAS, Captains Ayo Harrison, Mike Grady, Mark Green, Tim Moriarty, Pat Lamb, and Devon Johnson contributed greatly to winning the Class AA Championship and finishing the season with a record of 13-0; and

WHEREAS, The Fighting Irish team wishes to acknowledge the dedication of the seniors for their loyalty and contribution to the O'Dea football program;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Washington recognize and honor the O'Dea High School Irish football team and Coach Monte Kohler and his assistant coaches for their accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of Senate to Coach Monte Kohler, the members of the O'Dea Irish football team, the principal, and the faculty of O'Dea High School.

I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 1996-8685, adopted by the Senate February 8, 1996.

MARTY BROWN Secretary of the Senate