SENATE RESOLUTION 1996-8688

By Senators Sellar and Kohl

WHEREAS, The citizens of Washington state value leadership and expertise in all areas of enterprise; and

WHEREAS, Participation in athletics encourages young people to develop attitudes and skills which will assist them in achieving success in their future endeavors; and

WHEREAS, The Cascade Kodiak Football Team finished their regular season with an undefeated record and entered the postseason as the highest scoring team in the state; and

WHEREAS, The Kodiaks won their third consecutive Caribou Trail League title and played in the first Washington State "A" Football Championship game in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, The achievements of the Cascade Kodiaks would not have been possible without Brian Koch, Ryan Hansen, Lance Ballew, Peyton Piestrup, Brian Anderson, Barry Warren, Steve Hurt, Casey Sanger, Joe Klemz, Joel Solem, and Mike Wall; and

WHEREAS, This remarkable success was accomplished with the encouragement and assistance of Head Coach, Jack McMillan and Assistant Coaches John Bangsund, Steve Simonson, Russ Schauer, Elia Ala'ilima-Daley, and Gary Driessen; and

WHEREAS, The team received the support of their managers, Jay Dirkse, Ryan Johnston, and Travis West, as well as their fans;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate of the state of Washington honor the Cascade Kodiaks for their hard work and leadership demonstrated through this extraordinary achievement; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Marilyn Baker, Cascade Superintendent; Gary Brunelle, Athletic Director; Bill Keim, Principal; and Jack McMillan, Head Coach.

I, Marty Brown, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 1996-8688, adopted by the Senate February 16, 1996.

MARTY BROWN Secretary of the Senate