ANALYSIS OF SB 5659

House Agriculture & Ecology Committee

March 20, 1997

BACKGROUND:

The Washington State Beef Commission was established to provide programs to: increase beef consumption; develop more efficient production, processing, and marketing practices for the beef industry; identify beef products regarding quality and origin; and eliminate transportation inequities faced by the industry. (RCW 16.67.110.) The members of the Beef Commission are appointed by the Director of Agriculture and serve 3 year terms of office. A representative of the Department of Agriculture serves as a nonvoting member of the Commission.

Before July 1993, the Commission had 10 voting members: 3 beef producers, 2 dairy (beef) producers, 3 feeders, 1 livestock saleyard operator, and 1 meat packer. In 1993, the voting membership of the Commission was reduced to 5: 1 beef producer, 1 dairy (beef) producer, 1 feeder, 1 stockyard operator, and 1 meat packer. (RCW 16.67.040 and Chapter 40, Laws of 1993.)

SUMMARY:

The voting membership of the Beef Commission is increased to 8 members: 2 beef producers, 2 dairy (beef) producers, 2 feeders, 1 stockyard operator, and 1 meat packer. The member elected as the chair of the Commission must be a nonvoting member. (Section 1.) The initial term of the additional beef producer member terminates in 1998, the initial term of the additional dairy beef producer member terminates in 1999, and the initial term of the additional feeder member terminates in 2000. (Section 2.)