<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4691</u>, by Representatives Schoesler, Sheahan, D. Sommers, Benson, Crouse and Sterk

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to honor excellence in every field of endeavor; and WHEREAS, The Ritzville High School Future Farmers of America's Parliamentary Procedure Team won the 1997 National FFA Parliamentary Championship in Kansas City, Missouri, with over three hundred fifty individual participants and forty-four individual State Championship Teams; and

WHEREAS, In addition to winning the 1997 National Parliamentary Championship, the Ritzville Team also won the National Parliamentary Championship in 1992, placed Second in 1993, and placed Third in 1988 and 1996; and

WHEREAS, The Ritzville Parliamentary Procedure Team has won the State Parliamentary Championship in 1997, 1996, 1993, 1992, and 1988, and was also the Outstanding State Chapter in 1996 and 1997; and

WHEREAS, The 1997 National and State Parliamentary Championship participants were Tiffany Deking, Veronica Schoesler, Jimmy Shepherd, Crystal Walli, Erin Weber, Jaime Wellsandt, Louie Mock, Morgane Plager, and Stefanie Southwick; and

WHEREAS, In order to win the National Parliamentary Championship, the Ritzville Team was required to take a written knowledge test based on <u>Roberts Rules of Order</u>, on which they scored ninety-two percent, and required to make oral presentations for ten and one-half minutes, in direct response to parliamentary issues, motions, and debate; and

WHEREAS, The Ritzville Parliamentary Procedure Program has consistently performed at an extremely high level, as a result of the hard work, dedication, and academic achievement and excellence of the participating students; and

WHEREAS, These students have demonstrated to their classmates the success that is possible in any field of endeavor when persistent effort is made; and

WHEREAS, The Ritzville High School FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team is a credit to their community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and congratulate the Ritzville High School Parliamentary Procedure Team for their hard work, dedication, and sacrifice in achieving these significant accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Mike Schrag be recognized for his leadership and dedication to the Agriculture Education Program and the FFA; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the teachers, classmates, and parents of the team members be recognized for the important role they played in helping these students excel; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Principal Bob Hammann, Chairmen of the School Board Bob Walli, Ritzville School District Superintendent John McGregor, and to each of the members and the coach of the Ritzville High School FFA Parliamentary Procedure Team that participated on the National FFA Championship Team.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4691 adopted by the House of Representatives February 2, 1998.

\_\_\_\_\_

