HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4700, by Representatives L. Thomas, Wensman, Hatfield, Cooke, Robertson and Dyer

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program won the first annual Kids Voting USA Community Award given for outstanding community collaboration in an exceptional program; and

WHEREAS, The Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program was one of two programs selected to receive the award from the programs in forty states and the District of Columbia; and

WHEREAS, The Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program is part of Kids Voting USA, a national program that promotes voter participation and the education of children regarding participatory democracy by allowing students to involve themselves in the voting process; and

WHEREAS, The Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program was one of the first such programs established in the United States; and

WHEREAS, In its pilot year, the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program established the national record for increase in adult voter turnout attributable to the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program, a record that it holds to this day; and

WHEREAS, The success of the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program is due to the efforts of the students, parents, and community members who participated in the program as well as the staff of the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program and each individual who helped to make it a success; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Marv Norman, President of Kids Voting Washington, and Jack Darnton, chair of the Enumclaw/Black Diamond Kids Voting program.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4700 adopted by the House of Representatives March 4, 1998.

Timothy A.	Martin,	Chief Clerk