HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4716, by Representatives Romero, Costa, Cody, Ogden, Hankins, Mitchell, Sehlin, McDonald, D. Schmidt, Thompson, Ballasiotes, Wensman, Clements, D. Sommers, Alexander, Boldt, Smith, Mulliken, Sheahan, Mielke, Radcliff, Wolfe, Skinner, Constantine, K. Schmidt, Lambert, Sterk, McMorris and Talcott

WHEREAS, Amelia Earhart encouraged women to expand their horizons by exploring occupations and holding positions beyond those traditionally held by women; and

WHEREAS, Amelia Earhart was a pioneer in aviation, the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic and to receive the United States Distinguished Flying Cross; and

WHEREAS, Amelia Earhart was a beloved member of Zonta International before she was lost in the Pacific on a flight attempting to circle the globe by air in 1937; and

WHEREAS, Zonta International, a world-wide service organization of business and professional executives working to advance the status of women, has long recognized this woman of courage, character, and culture; and

WHEREAS, In 1938, a year after Earhart's disappearance, Zonta International established its annual graduate Amelia Earhart Fellowships in aerospace-related science and engineering; and

WHEREAS, In the sixty years since, Zonta has awarded eight hundred fortythree fellowships worth 4.2 million dollars to five hundred forty-seven women from fifty-one countries as a living memorial to Earhart; and

WHEREAS, In the sixty years of the Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship, Zontinas world-wide celebrate Earhart's legacy through the achievement of those who have manufactured materials now on the moon, made commercial air flights safer, helped prevent fires in spacecraft, and served as members on a NASA space shuttle crew;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State House of Representatives do hereby recognize and honor the value of sixty years of the prestigious Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowships.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4716 adopted by the House of Representatives March 6, 1998. Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk