WHEREAS, The Washington National Guard is composed of citizen soldiers and airmen who, in the noble and time-honored tradition of the Minutemen, stand ready to answer the call of duty; and

WHEREAS, SrA Lorinda Ecklund, 141st Maintenance Squadron; TSgt Michael Brickert, 141st Security Forces Squadron; MSgt Mark Tormanen, Western Air Defense Sector; SPC Stacie L. Buettner, Headquarters STARC-WA; and SGT Kelly M. Pugh, Company A, 181st Support Battalion, represent the best of the best by their election as the Washington National Guard's Airmen and Soldiers of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These Airmen and Soldiers of the Year, through the gifts of their time and personal energies, have served the people of Washington State with honor and distinction;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the National Guard's Airmen and Soldiers of the Year; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives extend its gratitude to the families and employers of the Airmen and Soldiers of the Year for their continued support; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the value of a strong National Guard to the security and well-being of this state, and extend its appreciation to the eight thousand men and women who serve in the Washington National Guard; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to each of the Airmen and Soldiers of the Year, The Adjutant General of the Washington National Guard, and to the Governor of the State of Washington.