HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 98-4733, by Representatives Wensman and Ballasiotes

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to honor excellence in every field of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The Mercer Island High School Islanders boys swimming and diving team won the 1998 Swimming and Diving State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Islanders boys swimming and diving team State Championship participants were Nathan Burstein, Timmy Chung, Spencer Driscoll, Will Gee, Jeff Guyman, Ronan Johnson, Chris Martinez, Tyler Nickerson, Danny Smith, and David Wilson; and

WHEREAS, The Islanders have exemplified to their classmates the success that is possible in any field of endeavor when persistent effort is made; and

WHEREAS, The Islanders are a credit to their community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and congratulate the Mercer Island High School Islanders boys swimming and diving team for their hard work, dedication, and sacrifice in achieving this significant accomplishment; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Coaches Frank Ceteznik and Jim Gillingham be recognized for their leadership; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the teachers, classmates, and parents of the team members be recognized for the important part they played in helping these student athletes excel; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Principal Dr. Judy Smith, Vice-Principal and Athletic Director Craig Olson, and to each of the coaches and members of the Mercer Island High School Islanders boys swimming and diving team that participated on the State Championship team.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4733 adopted by the House of Representatives March 11, 1998.

Timothy A. Martin, Chief Clerk