SENATE BILL 6272

State of Washington55th Legislature1998 Regular SessionBy Senators Long, Strannigan, Kline, Wood and JohnsonRead first time . Referred to Committee on .

1 AN ACT Relating to the number of district court judges; and 2 amending RCW 3.34.010.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 **Sec. 1.** RCW 3.34.010 and 1995 c 168 s 1 are each amended to read 5 as follows:

6 The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, three; Chelan, two; Clallam, two; Clark, five; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, two; Douglas, one; Ferry, one; 8 Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, two; Grays Harbor, two; Island, 9 10 one; Jefferson, one; King, twenty-six; Kitsap, three; Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two; 11 12 Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San Juan, one; Skagit, 13 two; Skamania, one; Snohomish, ((seven)) eight; Spokane, nine; Stevens, 14 one; Thurston, two; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, two; Whatcom, two; 15 Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be increased only as 16 provided in RCW 3.34.020.

--- END ---