SENATE RESOLUTION 1997-8674

By Senators Kohl, Jacobsen, Wood, Hale, Winsley, Sheldon, Prince, Patterson and Spanel

WHEREAS, The Seattle Pacific University women's gymnastics team is one of the leading gymnastics teams in the nation having just won both the women's team title and two individual event titles at the USA Gymnastics National Collegiate Championships which featured over 200 of the top collegiate men and women gymnasts from across the nation; and

WHEREAS, Senior Mindy Lee Ferguson won the national title on the uneven bars and senior Amanda King won the national title on the balance beam; and

WHEREAS, Laurel Tindall, Seattle resident and women's gymnastics team coach, was voted USA Gymnastics Coach of the Year by her peers for the third time; and

WHEREAS, Lisa Smith, Gina Bolenbaugh, Deni Boswell, Kathy Siwek, Amanda King, and Mindy Ferguson received All-America honors and Gina Bolenbaugh, Stephanie Andrews, and Lisa Smith were cited as USA Gymnastics Scholar Athletes; and

WHEREAS, The (Division II) SPU women's gymnastics team accomplished two major feats this season: 1) defeating the nationally ranked (Division I) University of Washington women's gymnastics team for the first time in ten years, and 2) winning its first ever Western Independent Conference championship; and

WHEREAS, The women of the SPU gymnastics team serve as role models and mentors through the SPU sponsored Falcon Gymnastics Center where they coach aspiring young gymnasts from the community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the women and coaches of the Falcons Gymnastics team for their accomplishments, enthusiasm, dedication, and hard work.

I, Mike O'Connell, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 1997-8674, adopted by the Senate April 24, 1997.

MIKE O'CONNELL Secretary of the Senate