HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4632, by Representatives Kastama, McDonald, Campbell, Conway and Thomas

WHEREAS, The annual Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 1999 marks the 66th annual Daffodil Festival; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a simple garden party in Sumner, and grew steadily each year until 1934 when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Festival's 1999 events are ongoing, and will culminate in the April 17th Grand Floral Street Parade, winding its way from downtown Tacoma to the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes princesses Hanna Benton, Eatonville High School; Rochelle Bolvin, Rogers High School; Kamaleah Brown, Washington High School; Nadine Coury, Stadium High School; Maylynn Eleno, Lakes High School; Semmelle Ford, Wilson High School; Nikki Grajeda, Franklin Pierce High School; Sarah Jones, Fife High School; Jeana Little, Sumner High School; Lori Maddox, Bethel High School; Jennifer Matteson, Mt. Tahoma High School; Amanda Maus, Clover Park High School; Tina Park, Spanaway Lake High School; Sarah Pitsch, Foss High School; Bunnary Por, Lincoln High School; Sarah Sheridan, Curtis High School; Meighan Steele, Orting High School; Nickole White Eagle, Chief Leschi High School; and Alison Yurovchak, Puyallup High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State House of Representatives do hereby recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival and its organizers over the past 66 years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted immediately by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to the 1999 Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival Officers and to the Members of the Festival Royalty.

> I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4632 adopted by the House of Representatives March 31, 1999.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk

Dean R. Foster Co-Chief Clerk