<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4670</u>, by Representatives Campbell, Schual-Berke, McDonald, Dunn, Schoesler, Pennington, Wensman, Radcliff, Mastin, Benson, Cairnes, Mulliken, B. Chandler, Ericksen, Delvin, Fortunato, D. Sommers, Boldt, Koster, Cox, Schindler, Huff, G. Chandler, Mitchell, Hankins, Esser, Sump, Kenney, Hatfield, Thomas, Bush, Conway, Edmonds, Kagi, Parlette, Doumit, Van Luven, Santos, DeBolt, Clements, Romero, Fisher, Wood, Sullivan, Cody, Anderson, Eickmeyer, Wolfe, Gombosky, Murray, Ballasiotes, Carrell, Dunshee, Ogden, Carlson, Skinner and Pflug

WHEREAS, Washington citizens with developmental disabilities are able to live independent, self-determined lives supported by dedicated direct support staff; and

WHEREAS, The lives of families who have children with developmental disabilities are enriched by direct support staff who provide respite care; and

WHEREAS, When individuals with disabilities are supported as fully participating members of society, our communities are strengthened; and

WHEREAS, In order to fully support individuals with developmental disabilities and their families, direct support staff must themselves be recognized as valued members of our society; and

WHEREAS, Civic pride and understanding in our neighborhoods is nurtured when we broaden public awareness of disability issues, and the essential role that direct support staff play to support citizens with developmental disabilities in living lives of freedom with dignity and respect; and

WHEREAS, The vitality of our state's economy and culture is fostered by individuals with disabilities who make unique contributions to living and working in Washington;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor and celebrate the direct support staff that care for individuals with developmental disabilities in our state, country, and the world.

> I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4670 adopted by the House of Representatives April 14, 1999.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk

Dean R. Foster Co-Chief Clerk