HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4690, by Representatives Wensman, Ballasiotes and Esser

WHEREAS, Bellevue High School, located in Bellevue, Washington, has a reputation for graduating students who have achieved strong academic and athletic records; and

WHEREAS, As an example of such talent, the Bellevue High School Math Team won the state championship on February 6, 1999, in Blaine, Washington; and

WHEREAS, The Math Team only missed one question in the whole competition; and

WHEREAS, The Math Team was tested as a group in several areas including: Probability, geometry, advanced algebra, and mental math; and

WHEREAS, Approximately sixty teams competed in the competition, including teams from Seattle, Spokane, Federal Way, Blaine, and Bellingham, thus creating an atmosphere of intense competition; and

WHEREAS, Eric Chu, Steve Sun, Paul Yang, and Wendy Yip, members of the Math Team, are to be congratulated for their outstanding performance in the championship; and

WHEREAS, Bellevue High School recently announced its National Merit Finalists who are: Alison Haddock, Evan Day, Candice Tewell, and Kelsey Ferguson; and

WHEREAS, The Bellevue High School Boys Swim and Dive Team shall be honored for its outstanding season and for having recently won the state title, making it the fifth time this decade it has achieved this honor; and

WHEREAS, The Bellevue High School Boys Swim and Dive Team has the following members, who have all contributed to the success of the team this year: Steve Brockett, Sam Chaya, Eric Chu, John Franck, Erik Gordon, Bobby Albrecht, Cam Cartier, Mathew Franck, Dan Heaton, Andrew Kang, Jensen Kerlee, Brett Leahy, David Trench, T.J. Stone, Brian Turner, Tyler Wilson, John Zook, Michael Dunlap, Tom Douglas, Ian Ferguson, Scott Green, Nick Harriott, Evan Kaseguma, Kevein Kirsch, Adam Ryznar, Kana Sevaaetasi, Zach Wilcox, Lennon Atteberry, Richard Franck, Zak Heaton, Arthur Jones, Roger Lee, Oscar Maria, and Justin Neiman; and

WHEREAS, Coach Paul Von Destinon garnered the honor of being named State Coach of the Year for boys swim and dive teams in 1996 and 1997, and he was named State Coach of the Year for the girls swim and dive team in 1998; and

WHEREAS, The season awards for the swim and dive teams recognized the following individuals: Erik Gordon, Captain and "Most Valuable" team member; Sam Chaya, Captain and "Most Inspirational" team member; Steve Brockett, "Most Improved" team member; and John Franck, Captain;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize these outstanding young individuals for their many achievements.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4690 adopted by the House of Representatives April 23, 1999.