<u>HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4696</u>, by Representatives Ruderman, Poulsen, McIntire, Miloscia, Morris, Linville, Gombosky, DeBolt, Skinner, Bush, Hankins, Wolfe, Grant, Rockefeller, Radcliff and Esser

WHEREAS, *Access Washington*--the State of Washington's web site, developed and managed by the state Department of Information Services--was named The Best Public Service Site in the prestigious Business On the Internet Awards sponsored by CMP Media's *InternetWeek* and *Network Computing* at Internet World in Los Angeles on April 14, 1999; and

WHEREAS, *Access Washington* was key to Washington State being named the nation's Digital State in 1997 and 1998 by the Progress and Freedom Foundation; and

WHEREAS, *Access Washington* helped Washington receive the nation's only "A" rating for technology management in *Governing's* 50-State Performance Report by Syracuse University's Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs; and

WHEREAS, Each month more people use *Access Washington* for government services and information, with page views totaling nearly three and one-half million since its November launch; and

WHEREAS, *Access Washington* is the Internet portal to more than 130 state agencies, supporting web-based services from the Departments of Revenue, Licensing, Employment Security, Labor and Industries, General Administration, and Ecology;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor *Access Washington* and the Department of Information Services for making government information and services more available, accessible, and affordable for the people and businesses of Washington state; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Governor Gary Locke and to the members of the State of Washington Information Services Board.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4696 adopted by the House of Representatives April 24, 1999.

Timothy A. Martin. Co-Chief Clerk	Dean R. Foster Co-Chief Clerk