HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4702, by Representatives Mastin and Grant

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to honor excellence in every field of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, Participation in sports helps students gain strong leadership abilities and become more productive members of their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Team members' commitment to their sport and pride in their school sets a good example for their peers; and

WHEREAS, The Walla Walla High School Boys' Basketball Team recently won the 1999 4A State Championship in Tacoma on March 13, 1999. The team erased a forty-seven year hiatus to bring the championship back to Walla Walla. The team went undefeated in league play before posting an impressive 9-2 postseason record, including a double digit championship victory over favored Ferris High School of Spokane; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jim Thacker was named the Seattle Post Intelligencer's Coach of the Year, and Senior guard Kyle Bankhead, Championship Tournament MVP, and Senior Forward Jon DeWolfe were named to the 4A First Team All State Squad; and

WHEREAS, The Walla Walla High School Boys' Basketball Team consists of: Kyle Bankhead, Jon DeWolfe, Matt Hamlin, Andy Thompson, Pat Kjack, Jeremy Harper, Joe Wilkins, Jeff Bennett, Bryan Erlebach, Thomas Kelati, Shawn Reese, and Pat McConn; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jim Thacker, Assistant Coach Earl Streufert, and Assistant Coach John Golden are congratulated for their outstanding coaching this past season;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives honor and congratulate the Walla Walla High School Boys' Basketball Team for their hard work, dedication, and sacrifice in achieving this significant accomplishment; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Head Coach Jim Thacker and each member of the Walla Walla High School Boys' Basketball Team.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4702 adopted by the House of Representatives April 25, 1999.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk

Dean R. Foster Co-Chief Clerk