HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 99-4707, by Representative Boldt

WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Falcons Basketball Team, from Vancouver, won the 1999 Class AAAA State Basketball Championship; and WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Falcons, having played in national tournaments, have brought both prestige and respect to Washington State athletics; and

WHEREAS, Seniors Angela Beveridge, Erica Moldenhauer, Lacey Grimm, Carolyn Oury, Mariko Wright, and Courtney Cushing have brought leadership and reputation to the team and Head Coach Al Aldridge, who is soon to gain his 400th win as a high school coach; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Basketball coaches showed leadership and skill while emphasizing academic performance in focusing their team on accomplishing their goal of winning the Class AAAA Championship and finishing with a record of 24-2 while the Prairie Junior Varsity and Freshmen teams had a combined record of 40 wins and no losses; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Falcons have tied with Mead High School of Spokane for the record of state titles in the large school classification, even though they just joined that class in 1994; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Falcons have won forty-seven consecutive games against Washington teams; and

WHEREAS, The Prairie High School Falcons have won State Championships in 1993, 1994, 1998, and 1999;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of Washington recognize and honor the Prairie High School Falcons Basketball Team; Head Coach Al Aldridge; and Assistant Coaches Kurt Sitton, Jeremy Hixson, and Ken Story for their accomplishments; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Coach Al Aldridge, to the members and staff of the Prairie Falcons Basketball Team, and to the principal and faculty of Prairie High School.