HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2000-4714, by Representatives McDonald, Kastama, Thomas, Wensman, Dunn and Talcott

WHEREAS, The annual Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 2000 marks the sixty-seventh annual Daffodil Festival; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a simple garden party in Sumner, and grew steadily each year until 1934 when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Festival's 2000 events are ongoing, and will culminate in the April 15th Grand Floral Street Parade, winding its way from downtown Tacoma to the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes princesses Dawn Ainslie, Washington High School; Bobett Babcock, Eatonville High School; Moriah Blake, Lakes High School; Emily Chipps, Puyallup High School; Melissa Clapper, Clover Park High School; Mariana DeArmas, Lincoln High School; Brenna Foley, Curtis High School; Amy Hamil, Franklin Pierce High School; Anna Hasselblad, Wilson High School; Leslie Hauge, Fife High School; Cela Mamic, Rogers High School; Megan McFadden, Bethel High School; Sarah Norris, Sumner High School; Keli O'Neill, Orting High School; Amanda Orr, Stadium High School; Shanel Rodriguez, Spanaway Lake High School; Erlene Schwenke, Mt. Tahoma High School; Tiye Smith, Henry Foss High School; and Rene Unap, Chief Leschi High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival and its organizers over the past sixty-seven years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted immediately by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to the 2000 Puyallup Valley Daffodil Festival Officers and to the Members of the Festival Royalty.

> I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4714 adopted by the House of Representatives March 2, 2000.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk