HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2000-4730, by Representatives Dunn, Ogden, Carlson, Mielke, Boldt, Pennington, Wensman and Barlean

WHEREAS, In these times of financial concern in many of our public and communitybased institutions, the actions of certain community members in Clark County have helped maintain high standards and high expectations; and

WHEREAS, Ed and Mary Firstenburg have distinguished themselves in their community not only by being involved in many worthwhile community affairs but also by contributing one million dollars to the Clark County skills center and five hundred thousand dollars to the Vancouver campus of Washington State University;

WHEREAS, George and Carolyn Propstra have been actively involved in their community and have given more than twelve million dollars in recent years to projects such as a baseball stadium, aquatic center, college scholarships, and the proposed plaza at Esther Short park; and

WHEREAS, The late Christine Kropp bequeathed two million dollars to five local organizations, including the Camas school district, friends of the Camas public library, friends of the Camas community center, Camas-Washougal historical society, and St. John's Presbyterian Church, and two organizations outside the area; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. William Evans, a descendant of Kate and Clarence LaLonde, donated two acres of property valued at one hundred forty thousand dollars to Vancouver-Clark parks and recreation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize and honor Ed and Mary Firstenburg, George and Carolyn Propstra, the late Christine Kropp, and Mrs. William Evans for their dedication and personal contributions to the well-being of many Clark County residents;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Co-Chief Clerks of the House of Representatives to Ed and Mary Firstenburg, George and Carolyn Propstra, and the descendants of Kate and Clarence LaLonde.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4730 adopted by the House of Representatives January 31, 2000.

Timothy A. Martin, Co-Chief Clerk