HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2000-4739, by Representatives Ericksen, Romero, Esser, Haigh, Lantz, Tokuda, Mielke, Wolfe, Ballard, Barlean, Koster, Wensman, Boldt, DeBolt, Bush, Van Luven, Pennington, Ruderman, Clements, Mastin, Lambert, Linville and Santos

WHEREAS, The Washington State Legislature recognizes excellence, achievement, and conduct in all fields and endeavors; and

WHEREAS, Washington State is known for many outstanding athletic teams and stars; however, there is one sport in particular where the award-winning participants toil in the shadows of more publicized sports; and

WHEREAS, This particular sport warrants recognition because it takes tremendous skill, athleticism, and a certain amount of "horse sense;" and

WHEREAS, Washington State is home to a number of people who pride themselves for their love of horses and equestrian competitions; and

WHEREAS, The athletes here to be recognized use a unique breed of horse in their competitions, known as the Appaloosa; and

WHEREAS, The Appaloosa, one of the finest breeds of horses, has a unique heritage in the Pacific Northwest, dating back to the 1700's when the Nez Perce tribe first recognized the stellar characteristics of this breed and relied exclusively on the Appaloosa; and

WHEREAS, When handled with confidence and expertise, the Appaloosa are a breed apart when it comes to competition, such as dressage, jumping, reining, roping, pleasure, and endurance; and

WHEREAS, These athletes merit distinction for their hard work and dedication to their sport and their achievements in equestrian events, including National and World competitions;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the Washington State Appaloosa riders that earned a "Championship" or "Reserve Championship" honor from the National Show in Oklahoma City or the World Show in Fort Worth. The honorees include: Corinne Anderson of Acme; Sarah Aron of Preston; Monica Baker of Olympia; Brittney Billow of Bellevue; Carlee Blackburn of Battle Ground; Jim Bluhm of Port Orchard; Linda Chessin of Bellevue; Corianne and Katie Cohee of Roy; Ronald Dillow of Walla Walla; Emily Griswold of Olympia; Valerie Hodson of Selah; John Hume of Roy; Rebecca Kelly of Bellingham; Annie, Erica, and George Lawrence of Seattle; Jill Pasquarella of Seattle; Rohella Shah of Sumner; Rachel and Tamara Sternoff of Redmond; Abigail Sudbery of Bellingham; and April Tomlinson of Issaquah; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we honor these champion horse riders for their hard work, dedication, competitive spirit, and accomplishments.

> I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4739 adopted by the House of Representatives February 9, 2000.